Geeta-Kavita
  • rajivksaxena January 2006
    Dear Friends

I am delighted to be a new member of this forum. I am a professor of Biology with great love for Srimad Bhagwat Geeta. Geeta as you know comprises 700 shlokas in Sanskrit. Direct reading of Geeta is therefore problematic for people who do not know Sanskrit well. We have to depend upon some one to explain what has been said in different shlokas. Though I belong to New Delhi, I often spend long stretches of time doing research in USA. In one of these stays, in an inspired phase, I did a complete translation of Geeta in to metered Hindi verses. The main feature of this work is that all 700 verses are metered and highly amenable to singing. Moreover, since I have been very careful to convey what the Sanskrit Shlokas say per se, a Hindi knowing reader can read my work and derive his / her own meanings. The work has been presented on my website:

www.geeta-kavita.com

Please visit the site and let me know your kind comments. The site also carries Hindi poems of well known Hindi writers.

With regards

Prof. Rajiv K. Saxena
  • cherry January 2006
    Srila Prabhupada translated the Gita, and he was a pure devotee.
    Unless you are a pure devotee, free from all desires, then, well .... sorry, i don't want to offend you, but, your Gita won't be pure.
    All glories to you anyway, please forgive me if i have offended.
    Thanks for your kind comments. I assure you that I am not at all offended.